Sri Lanka 20 and 50 Rupees

Sri Lanka, officially the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, is an island country in the northern Indian Ocean off the southern coast of the Indian subcontinent in South Asia.

As a British colony, the island was known as Ceylon, and achieved independence under the name Dominion of Ceylon in 1948. It was until 1972 the country was known as Ceylon.

Here are two banknotes of the Island nation dated 2010. This is a new set issued by Sri Lanka and as usual a very interesting design. Front of the series has a bird and the back is a vertical depiction of cultural dancers and musicians.

The banknotes were added to my collection in July 2012 in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

About bnk

A qualified accountant by profession with a passion for travelling and collecting banknotes! View all posts by bnk

One response to “Sri Lanka 20 and 50 Rupees

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: