South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) series coming soon!

For quite sometime, I have been trying to think of a focus area in the hobby, as one cannot possibly complete the banknotes of the whole world. I have finally decided to focus on SAARC countries and write about the beautiful banknotes of the South Asian Countries.

SAARC is an organisation of South Asian nations, which was established on 8 December 1985 when the government of Bangladesh , Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka formally adopted its charter providing for the promotion of economic and social progress, cultural development within the South Asia region and also for friendship and cooperation with other developing countries. It is dedicated to economic, technological, social, and cultural development emphasising collective self-reliance. Its seven founding members are Sri Lanka, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Afghanistan joined the organization in 2007. It is headquartered in Kathmandu, Nepal.

I have already started contacting individuals in each of the member country of SAARC. This will also help create a small portal for the banknotes of the region. I will be focusing on the beauty and topics on the region as depicted on the various banknotes. I will start with the current sets and will go to the earlier issues in my later post in the series.


About bnk

A qualified accountant by profession with a passion for travelling and collecting banknotes! View all posts by bnk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: